10 Book Challenge

https://i2.wp.com/www.ozdw.com/couch/sketches/vimes.jpg

I have been nominated to do the ten book challenge by @BrynGoodman. Much more relaxing than the summer’s ice bucket challenge and I can do it from the comfort of my armchair in my living room while watching a bit of telly!

The idea is that you choose ten books that have meant something to you through your life and then nominate 10 others. The list doesn’t have to be in a particular order so here goes:

1.The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien: I was first read this as a child in Year 6 by my head teacher. Mr. McCarthy read the first few chapters and I was hooked. The only problem was that the book was checked out of the school library for the rest of the year because of the amazing way he read it. I finally read it some years later and it was better than I remembered.

2.The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett: This was a book that I read at university and was pure joy as complete escapism.

3. Night Watch by Terry Pratchett: Time travel, fantasy, familiar characters who have grown over a long series of books… heaven!

4. There was an Old Woman Who Swallowed a Fly by Pam Adams: A child’s book that I remember having as a child and read so many times that it fell apart and was still read and read.

5. His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman: Read on my honeymoon in the Maldives. A fabulously weaved narrative through all three books

6. An Inspector Calls by JB Priestley: I read this at GCSE and it was the first play I read and went to see. Watching it being performed at the Bradford Alhambra made everything click into place.

7. George’s Marvellous Medicine by Roald Dahl: Or more specifically Rik Mayall’s performance on Jackanory. I have vivid memories of racing home from school to watch the master storyteller at work.

8. The Twits by Roald Dahl: With such descriptive language and vicous nasty characters, how could you not use this with a Year 2 class?

9. Asterix by Goscinny and Uderzo: I have fond memories of childhood and checking this book out of the library more times than any other.

10. The Beano, Dandy, Whizzer and Chips, The Beezer by DC Thomson & Co. Ltd.: The weekly comics and Christmas annuals that could give my mum an hour’s peace fed my love of reading and fostered a life love of comics.

As you can see, I have chosen books for sentimental reasons and the feelings they rekindle in me as I even just think about them. For me, having a warm, fuzzy feeling for a book that you read twenty years ago makes it a book worthy of going on my top ten.

I now nominate @Bennett31, @Emmsibo, @larnawhatwhat, @AndrewMapahead, @MrKMurphy, @grahamandre, @shoorayner, @MRSalakas, @Jon_Brunskill and @MartynReah

 

@gazneedle

Leave a Reply

