My First Sketch Notes

Over the summer, I sat down and decided that I was going to doodle some more.  I have always loved doodling and drawing and colouring and all manner of little arty things. People have commented on my diary and note book that I take to meetings and have complemented them so I decided to try to do a doodle a day.

But I wasn’t sure what to doodle… until I realised that a perfect stream of inspiration was at my very finger tips in twitter. I had a scan through and before I knew it I and found several tweets that I wanted to doodle which I did here.  The feedback I got was lovely which has inspired me to try to complete a doodle a day through the year which I will upload another time.

This increase in doodling led me to sketch notes. These are a visual representation of a meeting or presentation and I was fascinated with them. I watched a TED talk about talking notes in a more visual way:

…which inspired me to find out more about sketch notes.

I found a link to @rohdesign – the twitter handle of Mike Rohde who is a pioneer of sketch notes and has published books on the topic. After a few clicks it was on its way and was my Sunday reading. When I finished the book, I was desperate to try it out and I didn’t have long to wait. I was going to see John Murray (@readingexplorer) at the Literacy Shed Conference.

So, in a long winded way, I offer my very first humble sketch notes:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It didn’t all go smoothly!  I tried to add some colour afterwards using my fancy pens but disaster struck… it leaked through page 2 and ruined page 3! I could have wept, but instead decided it was a good chance to improve my work and copy it onto a new page, minus the bleed through.

Also when I took the photos, it was dark and the artificial light didn’t give a good picture so I use a super vivid setting with a flash which explains the very vivid colours!

They aren’t the best sketch notes in the world, but for a first attempt, I am quite pleased.

And to make things even better, it is a 2 day CPD so I get to do it all over again tomorrow!

Thanks for reading, commenting here and favouriting and RT-ing on twitter.

@gazneedle

Leave a Reply

