Look after your colleagues and they will look after you

My school has been dealing with some tough circumstances in which I have found myself the leader of our school.  Headship is always something I have said I am not ready for yet, if ever, but this half-term has seen me leading my school and the excellent team of staff.

My mum always said. “You get more with honey than you do with vinegar” and this saying is bearing true in my current situation.  Just in everyday life in school, I try to go out of my way to be positive and be upbeat and lively.  I have always tried to support colleagues and lend an ear when they have needed it.  I try to make sure that I am available to talk to and, even though I may feign mock annoyance, try to help with technical gliches as quickly as possible.  I try to make my TAs feel loved and special because I know that they are vital.

In a wider sense, I see my role as assistant headteacher as one of a middle man, relaying issues to the SLT and being a voice for staff when changes are being made.  This role has always been tricky as I have a foot in both camps.

I never knew how much an effect my little acts of leadership have had until this half-term.

I know that this isn’t the right time of year for this reference but I feel like George Bailey in It’s A Wonderful Life.

The support my team have shown over the past half-term has been staggering.  They have taken up any slack that has arisen. They have worked their socks off and they have made me feel honoured to work with them.  All of the enormous things they have done which I know will have had an impact of their lives, like staying for extra-curricular clubs or working extra hours, even down to the smallest of acts, like making me a brew, have all made me feel like I am lucky to work in our school.

I’d like to think that these acts of support are down to all of the little acts of support I have shown over the last 12 years at my school.  Just like George Bailey, this half-term has made me realise how lucky I am.

So, what how do you look after your colleagues in school?  I want to pinch your ideas!

Gaz

Leave a Reply

